Fleet Foxes (Self Titled, 2008) Album Review (Video)

The Album Cover
The Album Cover

Fleet Foxes are an Indie Folk band from Seattle, America and this is a short review of their debut full length self titled album.

I found this album originally by just spotting the album sleeve and looking at the artwork and thought of how interesting it looked and that I should see what kind of music they did, and I haven’t stopped listening to them since.

In my opinion, they are one of the most original bands in decades with their mix of vocal harmonies and instruments coupled with lyrics that really tells a story in each and every track, with every track actually being very, very good. That, to me, is a sign of a great album when you can say every track is good, follow each other and aren’t just a series of singles on an album. They are on the same page as Bob Dylan, Mumford and Sons, to some extent Kings of Leon and a little bit of Jack Johnson.

I get very relaxed listening to them as they are fairly easy going with no pointless loud noises, I like to fall asleep to the album, I like to listen to them when I’m doing a bit of work and I like to listen to them while driving. It’s an album that fits in to most situations I’m in, which is why it’s quite on high on the most played list on my iPod.

It’s a very earthy album to listen to with songs mentioning meadows, mountains and streams and so on, and with the album having so much green and brown I really do get the picture they are trying to paint in their songs. Well, that’s my interpretation as well.

Overall, it’s one of the most unique and brilliant albums I have ever heard and would quite easily fit into a top 5 albums of all time if I ever did one. If you’ve never listened to them before, give them a go and they might well surprise you.

Ronnie.

Leave a Reply

